Obligatory Top 5 Games List

Hey People, I thought I would start this blog off with a simple top 5 games list to give you an idea of the things I like and what I’ll probably write about in the future. Some of these games are certainly cliché top choices but there are a few gems that I feel are often overlooked in the gaming world. So, in no particular order, here they are!

20160224-Uncharted-4-Story-Trailer-01

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

While many would argue that Uncharted 2 is the best game in the series, I feel that Uncharted 4 was an amazing culmination of what we had seen in all the previous games and gave Drakes story a satisfying conclusion. The grappling hook added a whole new dimension to the somewhat stale gameplay of the series; It was incredibly satisfying being able to swing drake all around the map. Finally, it was amazing to see how much drake had grown and gave us a final send off to all our favourite characters – Except for the best character Chloe, though fortunately we will be able to see her again in Uncharted: The Lost Legacy.

persona 4

Persona 4: Golden

Persona 4: Golden was my first entry to the persona series and my god that game blew me away, never had I grown so attached to characters in a game like I had for persona 4. I spent so much time grinding through dungeons, trying to finish the mega beef bowl challenge and building my social link with the best girl, Yukiko. All the time that I spent in Inaba was amazing and it was almost impossible to leave this town and all characters I had built strong links with behind.

45103-The_Legend_of_Zelda_-_The_Minish_Cap_(U)(DCS)-11

The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap

Kinstone, Kinstone Kinstones! I loved this game so much as a child. I feel that it is too often overlooked by Zelda fans. I spent countless hours trying to collect every kinstone and pair them with someone else as well as trying to collect each and every one of the figurines. Links new ability of being able to shrink down to the size of the picori was an intuitive gameplay element and offered a new perspective on locations that you had visited previously in the game. This game also looked so amazing on the GBA, it really showed off the power of handheld consoles.

bioshock

Bioshock

Rapture is one of the greatest video game worlds ever created. From the eerie destroyed halls to the incredibly intimidating big daddys casually walking around the city; it all adds to building this fully realised world. I spent so much time trying to learn everything I could about this city through the audiotapes and message scribbled in blood across the walls. There was nothing more satisfying than finally taking down one of the powerful big daddys and then saving one of the little sisters. The game also has one of the greatest twist later in the game that really showed the power video games have as a medium of storytelling.

ff vii

Final Fantasy VII: Crisis Core

Incredibly shocking but this was the first final fantasy game that I ever played and is what made me realise that power that games have to tell incredibly emotional stories. Zack Fair, the protagonist of this game is one of the most likeable and inspiring characters in all of video games. This game made me incredibly invested in the rest of the Final Fantasy VII universe, making me want to know everything about Cloud and the rest of the characters. I felt that this was an amazing entry point to the final fantasy series with its amazing and simple gameplay that is reminiscent of the kingdom hearts series. The CG cutscenes also blew my mind as kid, I couldn’t believe that games could look this good, especially on a handheld.

Thanks for giving it a read and look forward to whatever I write next.

…If that ever happens…

Leave a Reply

